Things You Should Never Say To An Autism Parent

THINGS YOU SHOULD NEVER SAY TO AN AUTISM PARENT…

•You are too soft. He needs a smack to show him you are the boss.
•Can’t you control your child?
•He’ll grow out of it.
•He looks normal. Are you sure he has autism?
•I’m so sorry this happened to you.
•I’m so glad my kid doesn’t act that badly in public.
•Have you considered that YOU are the problem?
•Teacher: “I have a degree so I know what I’m talking about.”
(Yeah well I’ve got a piece of paper too and it’s his birth certificate. BEAT THAT!!!)
•Do you work?
•Does your child ever behave and can he/she be cured?
•You’re one of those lazy parents that use autism as an excuse. Start parenting properly!
•Oh my child does that too, he’s just being a boy!
•Just leave him/her with me for a week…. I will sort her out!
•It must come from your side of the family.
•If he was my child…..
•I would never allow my child to act like that.
•You must really need a break…… (Yet fail to offer said break!!)
•The neighbor’s letter to Children’s Protective Services:
“The other two (kids) seem ok, but she obviously doesn’t feed the littlest boy.”
•It must be because you’re a single parent. You need to do a parenting course.
•Oh I know how you feel. (NO you don’t. Unless you’re an autism parent too.)
•When will he talk?
•Why have you got reins on him? Give the child some space.
•Look at the parent… I can see why the child is like that.
•You need to be doing more to help.
•Is your child retarded?
•Wow, how do you do it? I could never deal with that!! (DUH, what’s my other choice? He’s my child! I choose to be his lifeline!)
•Oh it’s probably just a phase he’s going through.
•Oh, it’s ‘just’ Aspergers? I thought you said he had autism?
•You really need to make him “get over” some of these issues he has. (REALLY???!!!!!)
•It’s just the way you raised him!!
•He’s just being manipulative.
•He’s not autistic. He looked me in the eyes and autistic kids don’t do that.
•If you can’t control your child keep him in the house.
•What drugs did you take when you were pregnant to make him autistic?
•Teacher: We’ve had other kids in school with autism and they don’t behave like that.
•If you just had a husband you wouldn’t have this problem.
•You’re lucky it could be worse.
•Stop using Autism as a crutch.
•You are just obsessed with autism …quit trying to kill your child’s self-esteem.
•Why did you have kids?
•Well, it was God’s will. Just keep praying.
•Oh, autistic kids are geniuses! (That’s great, but right now I’m still hoping and praying that my child will someday do very basic things such as saying her own name.)
•Well at least he doesn’t look like there is something wrong.
•You can’t use autism as an excuse. He really is just being a brat. If you don’t control it now what kind of adult will he be?
•Don’t reward his “bad behavior.” (When he is having a melt down and I am trying to calm him down.)
•Do you mind if your child doesn’t play with mine, he’s a bad example?
•Why haven’t you tried that? I heard about someone who cured their child that way?
•He only acts that way with you.
•Why did you have another baby if your oldest child had autism?
•I’ve raised kids and they don’t act like that.
•Were you related to your child’s father?
•You should just give him what the rest of you have to eat then he’ll learn if he doesn’t eat it he’ll starve.
•Oh it’s not severe. He’ll be just fine.
•I don’t envy you.
•You should probably send him away to a home.
•He can’t be autistic.. My friend has a kid with autism and he’s nothing like her.
•It must be easy being a stay at home mom. You’re lucky!
•You need to potty train him now.
•It’s all in your mind! He/She is not Autistic! Doctors just throw that diagnosis around.
•God only gives what you can handle.
•He’s too smart to be autistic.
•Your child is old enough to know better than that.

